using website header

Connected: Display Connected: Media Landscape Connected: Regional Connected: AV Consumer Surveys Connected: Direct LinkedIn LinkedIn logo icon Twitter Twitter logo icon Youtube Youtube logo icon Flickr Flickr logo icon Instagram Instagram logo icon Mail Mail icon Down arrow
Ella Sagar 

Six win IPA New Year Honours

Six win IPA New Year Honours

The IPA has awarded six New Year Honours in recognition of "outstanding service to the industry."

Jan Gooding, Rosie Arnold (top left), Patrick Collister (top middle), Tony Cullingham (bottom left), Magnus Djaba (bottom middle) and Mel Edwards (bottom right) have been recognised for their contributions to the advertising industry in the fourth annual awards.

The IPA said they all "raised the reputation of the industry at large throughout their stellar careers" and will be awarded Fellow of the IPA status.

Mediatel News columnist Gooding (pictured below) has worked at companies such as BT, British Gas, Diageo and Unilever and, most recently as the group brand director and global inclusion director at Aviva.

Gooding also holds roles as an executive coach, non-executive Chair of Given and PAMCo, president of the Market Research Society, a member of the CMI Race Equity Committee, the advisory board of Utopia and is the former Chair of Stonewall and an Honorary Fellow of the Marketing Society.

She told Mediatel News: "I am thrilled to have been made a Fellow of the IPA. An organisation which I admire so much for constantly striving to raise standards across the industry whether it is throwing a light on ad effectiveness, championing creativity, insisting on rigour in JICs, or tackling diversity and inclusion, the IPA leads the work.

"I am extremely proud to have been awarded this honour, almost exactly 40 years after I joined Ted Bates as a graduate trainee and attended IPA Stage 1. I knew how lucky I was then, and continue to feel grateful now."

Other winners include Rosie Arnold, head of art and creative partner at AMV BBDO, Patrick Collister,  non-exec creative director at, Tony Cullingham, associate creative consultant at Bartle Bogle Hegarty, Magnus Djaba is chief client officer for Publicis Groupe and Mel Edwards, global CEO of the Wunderman Thompson network.

Paul Bainsfair, director general of the IPA said: “Rosie, Patrick, Tony, Magnus, Mel and Jan are pillars of the advertising community and have consistently driven us forward. I’d like to thank each of them for their passion, determination and commitment to our industry, and congratulate them on all on their wonderful and storied careers.”

Gooding, Arnold, Collister, Cullingham, Djaba and Edwards join a group of 16 industry figures to receive an IPA New Year Honour since 2019.

Leave a comment

Thank you for your comment - a copy has now been sent to the Mediatel Newsline team who will review it shortly. Please note that the editor may edit your comment before publication.

Media Jobs